Similar to other tools like Slack, Tactic accounts can be associated with more than one organization at a time. For that reason, when a user is deleted from an organization, their Tactic account is not actually deleted, but rather is removed from being able to access that organization's Tactic instance. To re-add a user to an organization, please follow the steps below:
Important Note for SSO / Directory Sync Users
For SSO / Directory Sync users: Make sure the user has been added to your IdP first. If they are included in the IdP, they won’t need to use a Join Code. They will be redirected to the SSO login page, and their account will be created automatically when they sign in.
Step 1: Have the employee log into their Tactic account
Because the employee already has a Tactic account, they will need to log in using their username and password. If they do not remember their password, they can reset it using the instructions found here.
Once they are logged in, they should see the below. If not, have the user navigate to: https://tactic.gettactic.com/setup.
Step 2: Select "Join existing organization" and enter the Join Code.
Once the user selects the "Join existing organization" option, they will be asked to enter in the respective organization's Join Code (see screenshot below).
If you are unsure where to find the Join Code, please refer to the Note section found at the end of this article.
Step 3: Celebrate!
Once the user enters the Join Code, they will be added to the organization and automatically redirected to the dashboard screen.
NOTE: To locate the Join Code, Tactic administrators can follow the steps outlined below:
Click on your profile picture in the bottom-left corner.
Go to Settings.
From the list, select Users & Teams.
On the right-hand side of the page, click Join Code.
-
Copy the Join Code and share with the user you are wanting to have join the organization (refer to screenshot below).
How to Remove a User
Only administrators can remove users from an organization.
If you don't use Directory Sync
You can remove the user directly from Tactic:
- Click your profile picture in the bottom-left corner.
- Go to Settings > Users & Teams.
- Search for the user you want to remove.
- Click the pencil icon on the right.
- Click the trash icon on the left to remove the user.
Remove or deactivate the user in your connected directory or identity provider. The change will automatically sync to Tactic, so you do not need to manually remove the user from Users & Teams.
Disable or remove the user's access through your identity provider. Once they no longer have access through their corporate account, they will no longer be able to sign in to Tactic through SSO. Because SSO manages access rather than user syncing, the user's profile may still appear in Users & Teams. If you also want to remove their user profile from Tactic, you can follow the manual removal steps above.